NFL Video Rulebook Intentional Grounding
Rule 8 Section 2
Rule 8 Section 2
ARTICLE 1. DEFINITION
It is a foul for intentional grounding if a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass that is not in the direction and vicinity of an originally eligible offensive receiver. The pass does not have to be incomplete for intentional grounding to apply.
Item 1. Passer or Ball Outside Tackle Position. Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the pocket area, throws a forward pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage extended (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or endline), even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball. If a loose ball leaves the pocket area, this area no longer exists; if the ball is recovered, all intentional grounding rules apply as if the passer is outside pocket area. A passer is out of the pocket area if any part of his body or the ball is outside the pocket area.
Item 2. Physical Contact. Intentional grounding should not be called if:
Item 3. Stopping Clock. A T-Formation Quarterback is permitted to stop the game clock legally to conserve time if, immediately upon receiving the snap, he begins a continuous throwing motion and throws the ball directly into the ground.
Item 4. Delayed Spike. A passer, after delaying his passing action for strategic purposes, is prohibited from throwing the ball to the ground in front of him, even though he is under no pressure from defensive rusher(s).
Penalty: For intentional grounding: